absolutelyaleta's blog

blogging for dummies

mrs. beasley’s makeover

for those of you who don’t know, Mrs. Beasley was a doll featured on the old tv series, “Family Affair.” i’m not sure when i got one and i don’t even remember ever watching the show, but in any case she was my beloved childhood talking doll. if you pulled her string she said things like, “Do you want to hear a secret?” or “You are my best friend!”

she was my best friend. i took her everywhere. including a trip to the San Diego Zoo. okay, okay. i know what you’re thinking considering my last post, but i was a child. it’s not my fault my parents took me to an animal prison. anyway, i lost mrs. beasley in that enormous zoo and cried so hard that on our way home my parents stopped at “Toys R Us”. so mrs. beasley 2 was born, or rather, bought. she didn’t have that worn-in look from years of sleeping with her and she still had her glasses, which were promptly lost. i did my best to age that poor doll by loving it to death and in time her seams started to come undone and the stuffing started to fall out. her dress became tattered and sadly her speech was impaired. now when you pulled the string it was like hearing her speak through a mechanical larynx. “Yoooooouuuuuuu arrrrrrrre myyyyyyyy besssssssttttttttt frrrrrrriennnnnnndddddddd.”

So my nana, who was an accomplished seamstress, gave her a makeover. no. more than a make over. mrs. beasley went under the knife. nana restuffed her, sewed a orangey-yellow flower print material onto her body. made her shoes brown and instead of a skirt, she was given a cream-colored apron. (what can i say…my nana wasn’t exactly sending me a message that i could be a doctor or the 1st woman president. no womens liberation for mrs. beasley! get her back in the GD kitchen!)

i still have post op. Mrs. Beasley in a box in my closet. although she seems to have misplaced her apron. now, how did that happen?

pre surgery mrs. b.

February 27, 2010 - Posted by | Earlier Pieces I've Written | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Send your friends who need head shots my way! I enjoyed this doll. I had my own version of Ms. Beasley. It was a rag doll named Drusila that my grandmother made for me. Unfortunately, she is no longer with me today.

    Comment by carafaceartistry | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. omg I TOTALLY forgot ab Mrs. Beasley!!!! I love her too and now I remember pulling on that string like, a million times!!!
    This is such a good piece! P.S. I still have my dressy bessy upstairs. LOVE HER

    Comment by Trixie | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] case you thought i was kidding found post-op, mrs. b and her badly wrinkled apron. my mother needs to send her contact info for her ironer, betty. yes, […]

    Pingback by in case you thought i was kidding « absolutelyaleta's blog | March 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

