absolutelyaleta's blog

blogging for dummies

past work revisited

so in an attempt to clean out my closet and also to satisfy my curiosity about whether i have improved or regressed from some of my earlier writings, i pulled a few pieces from my earlier literary works and will transcribe them here at absolutelyaleta. bear with this short experiment or come back in a few days when i should be back to my present ramblings.

my first interview in 4th grade (i was 9 or 10 years old):

Parent Personality of the Month

“My Supermom” by A.A.G.

I picked my mom because she gives good answers and she is very serious. Her name is Andrea B. Garcia. Her nickname is “Andi.” Her ancestors were from Ireland but her grandparents came to the U.S. in the 1800’s. Her favorite sport is baseball. She was on a softball team. My mom’s favorite team is the New York Yankees because her father took her to see them. She was also on a hockey team. She says she was good in Spanish and Algebra. My mom would like to start college in September.

My mom was born in Connecticut but before she came to Tucson, she lived in NYC and Fairfield, Conn. She likes to go to Monterrey, California, where we will be going this summer. She likes Tucson now, but she still misses the changing seasons.

She likes steak, chicken kiev and lasagna. Her favorite show on TV is “Eight is Enough.” My mom’s favorite animal is dogs and deer. Her hobbies are reading, swimming, and making clay pottery.

She met my dad at the Santa Rita Hotel at a political meeting. She has one brother who works in the art gallery in Washington, D.C. He hires people to work there. My mom has a message for me: “Stay as sweet as you are!”

i’m trying to, Mom. i’m trying.

February 20, 2010 - Posted by | Earlier Pieces I've Written | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Your mom must of been touched by this. Good job young Aleta.

    Comment by Alex Garcia | March 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

