absolutelyaleta's blog

blogging for dummies

i hate the food i eat

the title of today’s entry is a lyric from “The Police” song, “When the World is Running Down, You Make the Best of What’s Still Around”, which has to be one of the longest song titles in the history of music. which got me thinking about what is the longest song title and there is some debate but allegedly it is a 1974 song by the group, “Faces”:

You Can Make Me Dance Sing Or Anything (Even Take The Dog For A Walk, Mend A Fuse, Fold Away The Ironing Board, Or Any Other Domestic Shortcomings.)

it also might just be the silliest song title ever considering why would walking the dog or putting away the ironing board be a shortcoming? gee, if i could find someone to iron my clothes i would name a star after them. my Mother has an ironer. an ironer. she hires a woman to iron my Father’s shirts. not a dry cleaners but a woman named Betty who irons in her home for money. how old fashioned is that? Betty is a dying breed. but as usual, i digress.

i’m tired of eating the same food. it seems like every 20 minutes we discover new plants and lizard species, but produce remains relatively unchanged in the last 30 years. why has no one has discovered a new relative of the green bean or a distant cousin of the banana?  we tinker with recipes and new chefs pop up on tv at light speed (i.e., Chef Ming, Rick Bayless, Lidia) but as far as discovering an entirely new food, nothing.

maybe it’s too much to hope for. i’m going to find new ways to love the food i eat. i’ve stayed relatively loyal to applesauce and pears and i enjoy a good pasta when i get it. notice i didn’t say when i make it. plus i should be happy that i have food to eat, right? right. yeah! I LOVE THE FOOD I EAT AND QUIT YOUR WHINING, STING!

yeah. easy to say, hard to do. Sting’s got a personal chef and i have endless circles around the produce aisles dejectedly sighing until i pick up that zuccini and think, “wonder if he has a brother?”

October 10, 2009 - Posted by | Food | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’ll iron your clothes in your house for free. I love Betty.

    Comment by Trixie | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Aleta,

    Sice I was the first member of your mother’s family to get us beyond lettuce and tomato salad with Kraft’s French dressing I feel I can comment on food in our family. My first improvement was onion, cucmbers and peppeers on salad and then I got your grandmother to branch out into other bottled dressings. All these were new and exciting tastes sensations in my life.

    Your mother’s reaction was mainly a variant on UGK! You may have received this aversion in your DNA. I think it still is.

    But, over the years I have found many new and delicious foods that were brand new to me, i.e. mango, papaya, celery root,anise, tomatillos, pomegranites, tofu which is something I turn my nose up at – all the different lettuces (another item your mother turns her nose up at and Italian parsley (maybe not new but different) I found that you can eat parsley and not just use it as decoration. This is only in the produce section

    When we branch out to the rest of the store there is a world of new flavors and tastes. The solution is to cook.

    Comment by Jerry | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Jerry has a point 😉 I could teach you some recipes!! Maybe even some that do not contain curry!!!

    Comment by Sam | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Aleta:

    Just a clarification. I STILL do not do veggies! Love, Mom

    Comment by Mother | October 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

